Always be ready…

photo courtesy Nacho Rascon via flickr.com
photo courtesy Nacho Rascon via flickr.com

This week I listened to Craig Groeschel‘s book The Christian Atheist.  There were several points that challenged me in my “Christian atheism”.  However, there was one point that hit harder than the others.

Groeschel recounts a time he and a few buddies were talking about their faith while traveling on a city bus.  Someone sitting nearby overhead their conversation and interrupted, asking a few questions about Jesus.  Being caught off-guard and unable to quickly collect his thoughts, Groeschel stumbled through the conversation.  The man was cordial and excused himself as the bus neared his destination.  An opportunity to share his faith was missed because, as Groeschel admits, he was not “prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you for the reason for the hope that you have” (1 Peter 3:15).

Most of the people I work with know that I am a Christian.  If one of them is to ask me why I believe in Jesus, am I be ready to give a clear, coherent answer?

While I know why I am a believer, I recognize that I need to be ready to answer why at any time.  And in doing so, I won’t miss an opportunity to give the reason for my hope due to not being prepared.  In future posts I will share how I present the gospel when someone asks.

“Preach the word.  Be prepared in season and out of season: correct, rebuke and encourage–with great patience and careful instruction.” – 2 Timothy 2:4


What if someone came to you today and asked why you are a Christian?  Are you ready to give the reason for the hope that you have? 

Leave a comment